AMHCA Standards


The "AMHCA Standards" Bridge Professional Expectations with Clinical Practice

"AMHCA Standards" is a living document that is updated on a continuing basis by AMHCA's Advancement for Clinical Practice Committee to meet the needs of the public and the profession. In addition to standards of practice, it includes training and supervision standards.

The 2020 version includes two revised and updated standards, and four new standards developed since 2012. The two revised and updated standards are:

  • Substance Use Disorders and Co-occurring Disorders
  • Trauma-Informed Care

The four entirely new standards that have been added to the 2020 edition of the "AMHCA Standards" are:

  • Aging and Older Adults Standards and Competencies
  • Child and Adolescent Standards and Competencies
  • Integrated Behavioral Health Care Counseling, and
  • Technology Supported Counseling and Communications